Salme Pussy Bow dress

DSC_0451aPussy Bow dress by Salme Patterns.

For quite a while now I’ve been interested in Salme Patterns, but never followed through and bought one. The elasticated waists always put me off. I’m not very good at sewing with stretchy fabric, let alone applying elastic. After winning this fabric on eBay (vintage viscose) I wanted something summery and modern(ish) without being too cutesy. The floral print is much more twee than my usual fabric tastes, so I didn’t want to pick a vintage pattern for fear of looking like a cupcake. I came back to Salme and decided on this little number. The blousy nature of this design appealed as it’s been so hot in London lately. I like pussy bow collars, just not tied up round my neck. Too prissy and strangle-y for me.

DSC_0440a

Alterations I made when cutting out include adding two inches to the length of the skirt (which I later ended up cutting off), tapering from a 6 to a 10 in the bodice and at the shoulder and adding a 2cm seam allowance at the bottom waist seam. I took in the side seams by around 2cm as it was a little too blousey. Looking back, I could probably have just cut a smaller size. Usually I’d add an inch or two to the length of the waist, but after measuring the pattern pieces it seemed to be okay.

Quick fix patch up

Quick fix patch up

This was meant to be a quick and easy dress after a big project dress I recently made for a wedding (pictures to come). As always, something small and annoying happened. When stitching the side seams of the bodice together with the bias binding I failed. When I turned the binding around, it was smaller than the circumference of the armhole, so I had to unpick it and plaster it up again with some spare bits. Not the best fix, but sometimes life is too short. I really struggle with this sort of sewing – angling edges and joining seams exactly. One day my practice will make perfect. I think that day is far ahead of me.

One comment

  1. I love this pattern. I’ve had my eye on it for quite some time, so I’m happy to see someone has stitched it up. And it looks great on you!

Leave a Reply

