Odds and Sods

A collection of items on the agenda today, but I’m going to lump them into one post for the sake of economy.

  • Success! I made a t-shirt

DSC_1087f1

Steph C’s blank canvas tee pattern got used once again. This time, with bigger side seams for a closer fit. I also scooped the neckline out a little bit.

It’s made from a nice stable cotton jersey I scored off eBay. I used my overlocker with glee. Not much to say other than I am quite impressed with my finishing. I believe I’m getting better at it, or perhaps just more patient with it. I’ve chosen not to bore you with pictures of topstitched shoulders.

  • Disaster! I made some trousers and am unhappy with them!

DSC_1095f1

Spring came, and I’m now in that weather territory where it is too hot to wear tights with skirts, so trousers become a must. I revisited the Thurlow pattern in my attempt to make slim(ish) pair of trousers. I had seen a few re-works of this pattern, so wanted to try it for myself, but as the pattern already fit very well around my hips and backside I just shaved off width from the crotch down.

DSC_1092f1

Once I put these together and realised that they weren’t quite what I wanted, I became very disillusioned with them and avoided sewing on the final button for three weeks. I’m still very, very unimpressed with them, and still have not worn them. I have tried photographing them to no avail. They just look bad, the photos look bad, and it’s a bit of a moot point. Maybe this is that part of trouser sewing that I had been avoiding up until now – the crucial moment of realising that obsessive muslin-ing and careful fitting really does pay off.

  • On a different note, it’s time for…

mmay13

‘I, Lauren of Crafty Little Bugger, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’13. I endeavour to wear at least one self-stitched garment each day for the duration of May 2013’

Let’s see how long this lasts. I’m a late recruit.  As it’s my first time, I’m not being too hard on myself. I’m going to pledge to a garment a day and will try my hardest. I will also allow myself to wear garments that I have refashioned. At the moment I’m having a severe falling out with my wardrobe and as such I’m struggling to get dressed in the morning as nothing fits or looks right. I’m hoping this challenge will spur me on to realise that I have made some nice, wearable garments for every day. More troublesome than that, I need to work on photographing them!

I’ve watched previous participants who seem to do okay with it, so time will tell. Wish me luck!

2 comments

  1. […] completely me-made outfit. This is my striped blank canvas tee from way back when, and an unblogged denim Beignet. I have a love/hate relationship with my two […]

Leave a Reply

