Bootie call

My first proper knitting project! Baby booties!

DSC_1003_72dpi

I have always wanted to knit, but always lacked the confidence to try. Knitting seems like such a homely sort of skill, one that is passed down to you. My nana was a mean knitter, and used to make awesome neon jumpers and knitted tortoises. She passed away many years ago, so I am unable to badger her for tips and tricks. However I did inherit all her sewing notions, which included a plethora of knitting needles and crochet hooks. For years I have held onto them, but figure that I should stop fannying about and just try some knitting. After all, discovery is a huge part of learning a new skill.

knitknit1

For my birthday I received (asked for) a copy of Knitty Gritty by Aneeta Patel. It has received many favourable views from beginner level knitters and seemed to be the go-to book for those who just didn’t get it. I cannot tell you how many times I started knitting simple scarves, only to fail at almost every stage. Despite the huge amount of instructional videos out there, I just couldn’t understand. It looked simple and do-able, but I could not do it. This book changed all that. It is the most easy-to-understand, clear book I have ever read about knitting and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to try knitting. It makes what seems a daunting task a pleasurable dip into unknown waters.

My point is that you should check out the little red booties I made! Again!

DSC_1004_72dpi

They are project two in the book and I knitted them in Sirdar Baby Bamboo yarn which is a bamboo/wool mix. Now I’ve just got to wait for some pregnancies to run their course!

One comment

  1. […] wanted to work outside of the tried and tested bootie realm, so I went with Saartje’s bootie pattern, a really sweet double strap […]

Leave a Reply

