Stashbusting with Grainline

It’s been a while since I last posted. Life and all its mates have been muscling in on my time, so all I currently have is work, various and far-reaching obligations and sleep. I have been able to make a few things, but not all are finished yet. These tops are from weeks ago and the photos are pretty grim, but right now it’s all I’ve got for you.

DSC_0822f1

I’m in the middle of a self-imposed half-assed fabric ban. I am trying with all my might to sew more than I buy in order to create more space in my already cramped flat. Saying that, I have a few orders to place under the pretence of sewing for others. Obviously I will be ordering myself some stuff.

Anyway, what did I make with fabric from my stash? Well, a Scout and a Tiny Pocket Tank of course!

Of all of the indie sewing pattern makers out there, I think Grainline Studio is my favourite. Don’t get me wrong, lots of other people are doing some great things and making beautiful patterns, I just seem to reach for the Scouts and Tiny Tanks more than I do my other handmade clothing (winter coat aside).

On the Grainline blog, Jen has a little feature called Sew and Tell, where she interviews folks who have sewed garments using her patterns. Shivani of Pins & Needles was featured, and I suddenly needed a long-sleeved Scout in my life.

They were both cut out at the same time out of white soft viscose. This fabric is lovely, but is quite see-through and wrinkles incredibly easily. I’m not the neatest of people, but viscose does not have the beauty that linen does when wrinkled. It just looks messy. I learnt this by sewing a blouse in this fabric which I subsequently don’t wear.

DSC_0821f1

The scout is made from another stash fabric – a lightweight cotton voile that I never knew what to do with. A year or so ago I made it into a 1940s blouse that I never wore. It just wasn’t for me. Using the viscose, I underlined the voile et voila! What alliteration. The sleeves aren’t underlined as I was too short of fabric, but that’s okay. I quite like the subtle sheerness.

This Scout is one of the best finished garments I have ever made, so I am super proud of it. On my second wearing I got a compliment from a well-dressed friend of mine. Ah, the smug satisfaction the comes from those three little words, “I made it”. I love this top and am so pleased to finally be rid of two stash fabrics.

DSC_0824f1

The Tiny Pocket Tank was another story. I had some issues and left it laguishing for weeks before finally completing it to get it out of my lounge. Does anyone else do that? Leave a garment near finished for weeks, with only say the hem to sew, or a buttonhole to add?

The tank is double layered again, but for modesty. The viscose is very sheer on its own and doesn’t do me any favours. Doubled up, it has a really lovely drape and strengthens the nice bright white.

DSC_0818f1

It was all going so well until the neckline. This viscose frays like a mother and did not want to turn into bias binding, however I still sewed it to the neckline and armholes in the hope I would get down to some serious pressing in the future. After a few weeks of nonchalant deliberation about how much I could get down to that, I cut it off. I cut it off and sewed on some pre-made bias binding and was done with it.

DSC_0819f1

This top doesn’t make me feel smug, and I’m not as happy with it as the Scout, but it’s still useful. The pocket looks droopy and sad and it wrinkles like hell but it’s still wearable. And at least it’s finished now, and I’ve posted about it!

5 comments

  1. Love your Scout! Shivani’s versions inspired me too. A blue floral one is my project for this weekend. Wish me luck on finishing it.

  2. […] White viscose Tiny Pocket Tank […]

  3. […] 3rd: A two-parter. My cotton voile(?) Scout tee in the morning. The more I wear this, the more I realise I might need to lower the armholes on […]

  4. […] 25th: No picture, but I did wear this guy (the floral […]

Leave a Reply

