Gruesome Twosome

DSC_0352b

For the life of me I could not get a half decent picture of either garment shown here. They are both terribly un-photogenic. I did the best I could, believe me. 

Whilst I spend a lot of time dreaming about 60s pencil dresses and quirky blouses, I am most satisfied sewing garments I wear a lot, such as basic tops, classic skirts and coats. In a bid to sew through some of my woollen stash, I set about utilising some of the more basic patterns in Burda magazine. The first top is from this years February issue, in a collection based on 1920s garments. Not sure about the 20s references, but some nice patterns nonetheless.

127_technical_large

Raglan shirt 127 02/2013. This was labelled an easy pattern, and it lived up to it’s name. I forgot about adding seam allowances but it still fits, just a little tighter than I anticipated. The sleeves are nice and long, but the body is ridiculously long. I usually need to add at least an inch and a half to most patterns in the waist to avoid the late 90s midriff look, but I actually cut off about 5 inches of this. The drawing shows a long top, however the pattern is for a minidress even by my matronly standards. The fabric I used is some plain black cotton jersey that has a subtle sheen to it. It’s very lovely and drapey and not too stretchy. Nice and easy.

DSC_0359

For the skirt – a pattern I’ve used before.

111C_technical_large

Having already had a trial and error fitting session with the previous version, I sewed this one with relatively little fuss. I cut it out with a 1cm seam allowance, but sewed it with 1.5cm seam allowance to allow for the large fit. A bit backwards in logic but hey, it works for me. The only additional fitting I had to do was to take in the side seams between the waist and hip by 0.5cm or so, and it worked perfectly. After cutting I decided to try out a lapped zip,  however failed to realise I needed to cut a wider seam allowance to do that. So instead it’s a standard central zip insertion, using an old metal zip from my stash.

DSC_0357

To fancy things up a bit, I used bias binding – again from my stash – on the facing edges rather than overlocking.  I love how it looks. The lining is a bright turquoise polyester satin from my stash. It’s a pretty insane retina-burning colour, but I’m glad to have used it up. Makes getting dressed in the cold somewhat exciting.

There is a vent in this skirt, which I tried to line using this tutorial. I’m not sure I got it right, it doesn’t look right, it looks backwards, almost, but it’s hard to figure out where it has gone wrong. I’m flummoxed. I’ll have to try again sometime.

DSC_0358

My favourite thing about this skirt is the fabric. It’s a vintage Liberty wool I scored off eBay. Cream and turquoise green houndstooth, incredibly difficult to photograph or colour correct in Photoshop. It’s such a thick and sturdy wool and a good antidote to all the thin, stretchy jerseys I’ve been battling with recently. Moreover it’s super warm. I’ve got a bit more of it, but I haven’t decided what to do yet. It’s a bit too loud for a jacket (for me anyway, I’m sure Oona of Oonaballoona would rock it).

Any thoughts for what I should do? Tips for lining a skirt vent? Can anyone see where I’ve gone wrong? Also, does anyone else buy fabric off eBay? When people de-stash it I mean, not off the roll. I fret about it, but have been pleasantly surprised several times.

Leave a Reply

