Tiny Tank two

This is my second official version of Grainline Studio’s Tiny Pocket Tank (again, minus the tiny pocket).

Originally, I had begun making one in a navy mystery fabric in my stash, which was abandoned due to the fabric being quite unsuitable. I only realised after completing most of it. Using up stash fabric is a nice feeling, but I just didn’t think it through this time. Sometimes I struggle with matching pattern to fabric, and it’s frustrating because it makes such a difference to the finished garment. Does anyone have any tips for this sort of thing? Are there any hard and fast rules you follow? What happens when mystery fabric is involved?

This time around, I moved the bust darts down 2.5cm on the pattern. For once, I played by the rules and follwed the advice in A Perfect Fit, which is a book I’ve had for a while, but rarely used properly. Normally, I’d do a shoddy job using guesswork, but not this time my friend. Ah, sweet, smug self-satisfaction. I should pay attention more to this book and it’s advice. The bust looks weird on my dressform, but trust me, it doesn’t look like that on me.

I opted for some other stash fabric – my nana’s old skirt, the one I butchered years ago. I recently tried to make up for it with some Liberty fabric, but this border print is so much better. It’s a mystery fibre however I can confidently say it’s a stable knit fabric. The back is pieced together due to fabric shortages but I’m really glad that I managed to make something from these leftovers. Looking back, I can’t believe how gung-ho I was about hacking into this skirt that I felt so sentimental about. Ah well – you live and learn. Does anyone else get precious about inherited fabric or garments?

The hem is straight, partially because I was lazy and the original skirt had already been hemmed so neatly, and partially because I had so little fabric to work with, and I didn’t want to lose any length as I have a long waist.

Not much to say, really. It’s a great pattern, I’d recommend it highly, I’m definitely going to make more. I love the Grainline Studio blog and plan to buy more patterns.

As a side note, I have not given up on my Burda Eva jacket, it’s near completion, I only need to finish the hem. It’s become warm and sunny(?!) since I started, and I’ve not needed to finish it just yet. Soon I shall, because I have more jacket plans up my sleeve (pun not intended). Thanks for reading!

2 comments

  1. […] my success with the Tiny Pocket Tank and the Maritime shorts, I just had to have the Scout woven t-shirt pattern. I made it from some […]

Leave a Reply

