My First Jumper

It’s not all doom and gloom. I finished my first knitted jumper!

_DSC1996f1

It’s a (slightly modified) Chuck by Andi Satterlund, knitted using Drops Big Merino yarn.

_DSC1995f1It’s by no means perfect. It came out a lot bigger than I anticipated, and a lot longer too. The yarn may have stretched out during blocking, but all in all I’m pretty pleased. I messed up one of the bottom cables, and only noticed when I was working on the second arm. It’s annoying, but I’ll live with it. It’s my first adult sweater attempt and I’m 85% happy, so I’ll let it be.

_DSC1997f1

12 comments

  1. Congratulations! It’s beautiful!

  2. This looks FANTASTIC! I can’t see the cable “mess up” at all. And I like the fit, though I’m not sure what the intended fit is. I’m so impressed you did cables on your first sweater! I’m still yet to attempt cables. They make me shudder in fear :)

    1. Awesome! I got away with it! The intended fit is cropped to the waist, but other than that it seems as it should. Cables are not to be feared, trust me. They just take a little bit if concentration to follow the pattern, but they are deceptively simple.

  3. This is amazing! I love the colour and the fit looks great to me too!

    1. Thanks. The colour is really rich, it’s a really nice yarn to work with too.

  4. Great result! I like the longer length on you.

    1. Me too, I’m glad I went for it. I love the idea of a cropped sweater, but I don’t think I’d actually be able to wear it comfortably.

  5. It looks fab! I can’t see any cable mistakes at all (altho admittedly I don’t know what I’d be looking for…!) It’s a brilliant achievement! It makes me think I really need to get a wriggle on with my miette cardi…

    1. You should! I’m excited to see it. Then we can revel in our knitting achievements together!

  6. […] was knitted using up the last of my Drops Big Merino yarn I bought for Chuck. This yarn is way more suited to a hat than to a jumper. It seems to be really heavy and stretches […]

  7. This longer version is lovely!

    1. I do wonder if I should have kept it cropped, maybe in the future I’ll try making another…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

