Hemlock

DSC_1181f1

A few weeks ago I was powering through unfinished projects, following an incredibly inspiring post by Lladybird. After a lot of hand sewing hems, I got itchy feet and fancied a quick dirty project to give me some time with my sewing machine.

I made a Hemlock.

DSC_1178f1

As you probably know, it’s a free pdf pattern from Grainline Studios. I’m not great with knits, or my serger, but I still had this finished in a couple of hours. ┬áIt’s an incredibly comfortable, relaxed top that I’ll probably make a few more of. Isn’t that always the way with Grainline patterns?

My colourblock attempt is made from viscose jersey, and the only alterations I made were to shorten the sleeves by two inches, and the hem by one inch.

P.S. If you haven’t already, please enter my giveaway. Closes next week.

4 comments

  1. Great shirt! I really love the colourblocking effect :) I came across this pattern the other day and immediately printed it! Maybe I can find some fabrics in my stash that I can colourblock with..

  2. […] jersey from Tissu Fabrics, and is really very soft and lovely. It’s leftover from my Hemlock. The elastics are from Merckwaerdigh, I bought them ages ago thinking I would attempt this […]

  3. […] for the construction, I added an extra inch in length to the top half. As much as I like my first version, I feel that the colour-block seam hits me at a weird place. This one is just below my waist and […]

  4. […] 1st: My first viscose knit Hemlock. Just working at home today, so nothing […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

