Practice, practice, practice

Since completing my first knitting project, I have gone a little knit crazy. I am determined to knit a jumper or two (Chuck is on my hit list for sure). I want to brighten up my knitwear wardrobe and replace any horrible plastic fibres with beautiful, beautiful wool. As they say, practice makes perfect, so that’s what I’ve been doing. It is indeed spring, but it’s never too late to start a learning curve!

  • First up, but second finished is this hat:

hat

The pattern is from Knitty Gritty (again) although I decided to make the rib band smaller than specified so as to be more in proportion with a tiny baby head. This meant more rows of garter stitch, but I definitely prefer the outcome. This took me a long time to finish as I kept stopping and starting. It’s made from leftover yarn from the booties, but makes quite an adorable gift, right? Right? I kind of messed up the top and made it sit all pointy… I think I’ve learnt a valuable lesson about the weight of knitting and pulling stitches, I just don’t know how to explain it eloquently. A pom pom sorts everything out though. She/he’ll never know.

  • Second is this little pin cushion:

DSC_1022f1

Now I’m a properĀ member of Ravelry, I spend quite a lot of time browsing free, easy patterns in order to practice knitting with. This popped up, I needed a pin cushion (I’ve been officially told off about the pins on the carpet) and it worked out very nicely indeed.

I used the Tofu Pin Cushion pattern from BitterSweet, which is super sweet, however mine isn’t quite the right colour for tofu. Nevermind, I wasn’t going for culinary accuracy anyway. To keep in with the light mauve-y yarn, I used purple embroidery thread for the eyes and mouth. The filling is a block of car cleaning sponge. It’s cute yet functional so I’m happy.

And for my next trick…

One comment

  1. I’m seriously in love with your pin cushion (-:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

