Adquisiciones recientes

Lots of new stuff for me… Some of it bought myself, and some of it Christmas presents. I have been very lucky gift-wise.

First, the vintage patterns:

DSC_0272

McCall’s 4868, from 1942.

I do realise that I’ve just finished a coat, but living in London, if there’s one thing that you can never have too many of, it’s jackets and coats. I loved the process, and would enjoy making a more practical coat.

DSC_0271

McCall’s 5529, from the 1940s, but I can’t be sure exactly when. It’s got a reference to Civilian Clothing Restriction Orders on the back, so I’m assuming at some point during the war.

I am often overwhelmed by the sacrifices that people had to make throughout the war, and am incredibly interested in clothing rationing and the designs that sprung from these restrictions. There is a comprehensive list at Cargo Cult Craft if you’re interested.

DSC_0275

Simpilicity 4862, from the 1940s again (do you see a theme here?), but I can’t date it.

One of the books I’ve been reading recently, How We Lived Then, has a chapter specifically about ‘Make Do and Mend’ and one of the things that gets mentioned is the lack of paper, and also how ink was preserved, so most of the wartime patterns produced in Britain are colourless. I have seen this pattern before and drooled over the colour version, so was surprised when this version turned up on eBay.

DSC_0270

Vogue 5200, again, from the 1940s.

I’m going to make this up without the shoulder pads as a spring/summer jacket as mine got too old to wear last summer. It’s a bit like Advance 2960 which Steph C made a gorgeous version of a while back. I have been searching high and low for that pattern always returning empty-handed. When I saw this almost-but-not-quite pattern, I snapped it up.

Modern patterns:

DSC_0274

Sewaholic Thurlow trousers.

When I first saw these, I wasn’t that interested. All of the versions from Lladybird’s sewalong (especially her old-man versions) and a closer look at the pattern measurements made me realise that they are actually pretty good for me, both fit and style-wise, not forgetting wardrobe wise. I have one pair of trousers. Not convinced on the bootcut leg, but I’m still in muslin stage, so we’ll see what happens there.

DSC_0273Tiramisu from Steph C’s Cake patterns.

Although this isn’t my usual style of dress, the wonderful experience I had using Steph’s Blank Canvas Tee pattern convinced me to give it a go. I’ll be hopefully joining the sewalong scheduled in the new year.

Next up, the Merchant and Mills sewing book:

DSC_0254I had no idea this existed, but I am very happy it is now in my life. It is aimed at beginners, and takes you through the basics and then through simple projects that get more and more advanced as you progress. It also includes two patterns for a shawl and a top, which is gorgeous.

DSC_0257

The photos are divine, and the projects all look so luxurious. I’d love to get my hands on some oilskin and make a bag or two.

Most beautiful of all is their motto:

DSC_0258Something I need to adhere to.

Last but definitely not least, I got an overlocker!

DSC_0276

A Janome 9200D. I had planned to start saving up for one of these to buy next year, but I am lucky enough to have received one for Christmas. I’ve been overlocking all sorts in my excitement, and am blown away by the speed of this thing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

