The Silken Scout

I totally have a crush. On a pattern line.

After my success with the Tiny Pocket Tank and the Maritime shorts, I just had to have the Scout woven t-shirt pattern. I made it from some dark pink silk in my stash. It’s quite matt, and really quite lovely to work with, not at all like that Liberty satin silk bastard I used a while ago. This stayed where I put it, kept quiet and behaved (most of the time).

I cut out a size 4 but I kept the longer length of the largest size, which gives me an extra inch or so of hem. It’s so nice to be able to do this. Countless times I’ve tried clothes on in shops only to lament, ‘if it were just a little bit longer…’ That’s what I love about sewing my own clothes, it’s all about the little things you can do to make it yours.

It took a week between cutting and sewing to finish this, for work reasons. The weekend came around, I forged a few hours out of it for me, and set to work. French seaming all the way, it came together reasonably quickly. The tiny pocket from Tiny Pocket Tank almost made an appearance, but I decided against it at the last minute. It’s a silk top for crying out loud. Does it really need a tiny pocket? Aren’t I meant to be making nice, wearable basics? I’m very glad I chose against it because on reflection, a silk t-shirt speaks for itself.

I struggled a little with the bias binding. The silk, whilst lovely to sew, was still a bit of a bugger to press, so that took me quite a while, along with hemming.  The neckline sticks out a bit – see above. It doesn’t look too bad on. There’s quite a lot of messy stitching, but overall I don’t think it’s too noticeable. It’s definitely not perfect, but I think I can live with it.

Good hem… bad hem

What I do love, is the way this top hangs – it pleases me greatly. I love that the hem is slightly higher at the front than at the back. Usually asymmetric hems upset me, but this is subtle enough to look nice. This top was on my ‘to sew’ list all summer, so I am super happy it’s finally done. The simple, casual pattern combined with the luxurious fabric is a lovely contrast, and I can see myself making more of these in the future.

Still not convinced about sewing with silk though. Is it really worth all the tears, anguish and finger burns? I love the idea of silk clothes, but the patience needed and the actualities of sewing it really puts me off.

Does anyone else have fabrics they prefer to steer clear of?

5 comments

  1. This is lovely, the colour is perfect. I’ve only sewn with silk once and it was a bit of a nightmare, but my nemesis has to be slippery polyester linings that fray everywhere. Well done on your pocket restraint. I have a terrible weakness when it comes to tiny useless pockets, I can’t resist putting them on everything I make but simplicity would probably be much nicer!

    1. Thanks very much! I’m glad I omitted the pocket, but I’m desperate to put it on something!

      I’m with you about the polyester linings. I hate slippery fabric. I struggled to line a dress only to wear it and feel sweaty and gross. I’m very, very picky about linings now.

  2. [...] silk t-shirt I made has gone to ruin. I washed it as normal, only to realise when dry that there are stains on [...]

  3. [...] to it so I figured a Scout would be perfect, and it would make up for the partial loss of my last Scout. I picked it up online, it’s ex-Jean Muir fabric, like the wool jersey I used for my 60s knit [...]

  4. [...] bit schoolgirly, and that’s not a good look for me. It’s lined with the same silk that my silk Scout tee is made from. What is it with my good fabric/bad garment [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

